On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 106.1 FM Lansing, Michigan


Current Conditions(Holt,MI 48842)

More Weather »
50° Feels Like: 50°
Wind: W 3 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Partly Cloudy 64°


Clear 41°


Mostly Sunny 67°

Courtney Love, Michael Stipe, Iggy Pop Among Stars Featured on Upcoming "Pirates of the Caribbean"-Inspired Compilation

Image courtesy of Anti- Records (via ABC News Radio)
Image courtesy of Anti- Records (via ABC News Radio)

An eclectic variety of music stars, including Hole lead singer Courtney Love , former R.E.M. frontman Michael Stipe and Iggy Pop , have contributed to a new compilation of traditional sea-themed tunes inspired by the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. 

Son of Rogue's Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs & Chanteys is a sequel to a similarly named 2006 collection of tunes produced by Hal Willner and executive produced by Johnny Depp and Pirates of the Caribbean series director Gore Verbinski .  The two-CD set, which features 36 tracks, will be released on February 19.

Stipe and Love collaborate on a version of "Rio Grande," while Iggy Pop provides some vocals to “A**hole Rules the Navy” with A Hawk and a Hacksaw and “The Dreadnought" with Elegant Too .  Other artists appearing on the two-CD set include Rolling Stones guitarist Keith Richards , Patti Smith , Todd Rundgren , Dr. John , and Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention .

Willner, who has been the mastermind behind a variety of themed compilations over the years, says of Son of Rogue's Gallery , "It is a very different record than volume 1.  This one seems…happier?  Not as much about torture, sodomy and death, which will disappoint some but, we don't need to repeat ourselves do we?"

Here is the complete track list for Son of Rogue's Gallery :

Disc 1:
"Leaving of Liverpool" (Shane MacGowan with Johnny Depp & Gore Verbinski)
"Sam's Gone Away" (Robyn Hitchcock)
"River Come Down" (Beth Orton)
"Row Bullies Row" (Sean Lennon with Jack S**t)
"Shenandoah" (Tom Waits with Keith Richards)
"Mr. Stormalong" (Ivan Neville)
"A**hole Rules the Navy" (Iggy Pop with A Hawk and a Hacksaw)
"Off to Sea Once More" (Macy Gray)
"The Ol' OG" (Ed Harcourt)
"Pirate Jenny" (Shilpa Ray with Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
"The Mermaid" (Patti Smith & Johnny Depp)
"Anthem for Old Souls" (Chuck E. Weiss)
"Orange Claw Hammer" (Ed Pastorini)
"Sweet and Low" (The Americans)
"Ye Mariners All" (Robin Holcomb & Jessica Kenny)
"Tom's Gone to Hilo" (Gavin Friday and Shannon McNally)
"Bear Away" (Kenny Wollesen & The Himalayas Marching Band)

Disc 2:
"Handsome Cabin Boy" (Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention)
"Rio Grande" (Michael Stipe & Courtney Love)
"Ship in Distress" (Marc Almond)
"In Lure of the Tropics" (Dr. John)
"Rolling Down to Old Maui" (Todd Rundgren)
"Jack Tar on Shore" (Dan Zanes with Broken Social Scene)
"Sally Racket" (Sissy Bounce [Katey Red & Big Freedia] with Akron/Family)
"Wild Goose" (Broken Social Scene)
"Flandyke Shore" (Marianne Faithfull with Kate & Anna McGarrigle)
"The Chantey of Noah and his Ark (Old School Song)" (Ricky Jay)
"Whiskey Johnny" (Michael Gira)
"Sunshine Life for Me" (Petra Haden with Lenny Pickett)
"Row the Boat Child" (Jenni Muldaur)
"General Taylor" (Richard Thompson with Jack S**t)
"Marianne" (Tim Robbins with Matthew Sweet & Susanna Hoffs)
"Barnacle Bill the Sailor" (Kembra Phaler with Antony/Joseph Arthur/Foetus)
"Missus McGraw" (Angelica Huston with The Weisberg Strings)
"The Dreadnought" (Iggy Pop & Elegant Too)
"Then Said the Captain to Me (Two Poems of the Sea)" (Mary Margaret O'Hara)

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio