« Rock Music

First Taste of Philip Anselmo's New Solo Record

by Jon Bloggin' Rogo

In one week (July 16, 2013), former Pantera front-man Philip Anselmo’s first-ever solo record, Walk Through Exits Only will be released. 

Check out the album’s first promo video, for Bedridden.

Walk Through Exits Only was produced by Philip Anselmo and Michael Thompson, and recorded over the past couple of years at his New Orleans studio, Nodferatu’s Lair, with his band The Illegals – Marzi Montazeri/guitar, and drummer Jose Manuel “Blue” Gonzales. The album is abrasive, aggressive, anthemic and 100% Anselmo. The album’s features eight songs including Battalion of Zero, Usurper’s Bastard Rant, and album’s title track Walk Through Exits Only. 

Anselmo and the Illegals will support the new record with a major North American tour, dates are as follows:


31 Cain’s Ballroom, Tulsa, OK


2 Wooly’s, Des Moines, IA

3 First Avenue, Minneapolis, MN

4 House of Blues, Chicago, IL

6 House of Blues, Cleveland, OH

7 The Intersection, Grand Rapids, MI

9 Royal Oak Music Theatre, Royal Oak, MI

10 Danforth Music Hall, Toronto, ONT Canada

11 Heavy MTL Festival, Montreal, QC Canada

13 The Palladium, Worcester, MA

14 Upstate Concert Hall, Clifton Park, NY

16 Best Buy Theatre, New York, NY

17 Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA

18 The Fillmore, Silver Spring, MD

20 The Masquerade – Heaven Stage, Atlanta, GA