« Jon Bloggin' Rogo

Pantera's Far Beyond Driven Gets Special 20th Anniversary Release This Spring

by Jon Bloggin' Rogo

Pantera reached a major milestone in 1994 when the band’s seventh studio record, Far Beyond Driven, debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200, becoming the fastest-selling album of the group’s career and its second consecutive platinum release. Not only a commercial success, the record also earned positive reviews around the world for the beautiful brutality of its all-out sonic assault.

2014 marks the 20th anniversary of that landmark record and Rhino is celebrating with a special two-disc version that includes a newly remastered version of the album, along with a live performance from the 1994 Monsters of Rock FestivalFar Beyond Driven: 20th Anniversary Edition will be available on March 25th.

Its 12 songs represented a continuation of the previous album’s relentless musical onslaught with hard-hitting tracks like the first single I’m Broken as well as the mosh-pit classics 5 Minutes Alone and Slaughtered. Another killer standout track was the group’s swirling acoustic cover of Black Sabbath’s Planet Caravan, which became a live favorite when Pantera hit the road to support the album later that year.

Fans are in for a treat with the second disc of the 20th Anniversary Edition. Dubbed Far Beyond Bootleg-Live From Donington ’94, the disc contains Pantera full live set recorded at the Monsters of Rock Festival in Donington, England on June 4th, 1994. The 40-minute show comprises nine tracks taken from the band’s three most recent records including: Use My Third Arm and Strength Beyond Strength (Far Beyond Driven)WalkMouth For War, and This Love (Vulgar Display of Power), plus the title track from Cowboys from Hell as well as Domination and Hollow.

Far Beyond Driven: 20th Anniversary Edition Track Listing:

Disc One – Original Album Remastered

1. Strength Beyond Strength
2. Becoming
3. 5 Minutes Alone
4. I’m Broken
5. Good Friends And A Bottle Of Pills
6. Hard Lines, Sunken Cheeks
7. Slaughtered
8. 25 Years
9. Shedding Skin
10. Use My Third Arm
11. Throes Of Rejection
12. Planet Caravan

Disc Two- Far Beyond Bootleg – Live From Donington ’94

1. Use My Third Arm
2. Walk
3. Strength Beyond Strength
4. Domination/Hollow
5. Slaughtered
6. Fucking Hostile
7. This Love
8. Mouth For War
9. Cowboys From Hell